Understand the Laws Behind Ohio DUI/OVI Charges
An Ohio OVI (operating a vehicle impaired) conviction can be devastating both now and in the future. Suddenly, your family, friends, finances and freedom can all be affected by this serious charge. By understanding the Ohio OVI laws, you can make the best decisions when it comes to your defense.
As a Columbus DUI/OVI defense attorney, Adam Nemann, of Nemann Law Offices, knows just exactly what you are up against and wants to help increase your chances of fighting the charges against you. And the first step is being educated.
Know the Law
Previously known as DUI or DWI, Ohio OVI laws are tough and fairly unforgiving. In 2004, the state legislature replaced the DUI statute with OVI, or operating a vehicle impaired. But no matter what you call it, being charged can be the beginning of a real nightmar.
What is an Ohio DUI/OVI Offense?
In order to be convicted of an Ohio DUI/OVI charge, it must be proved that:
- You consumed alcohol, abused drugs or both;
- That you operated a motor vehicle after doing so;
- And that your ability to operate the vehicle was impaired.
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC):
It is important to understand is exactly what constitutes drunk driving in Ohio. In most cases, the blood alcohol score determines many outcomes of your case.
- Limits: The BAC limit for drivers under 21 years of age is .02 percent; for 21 years or older, .08 percent; and for commercial drivers, .04 percent.
- BAC (Sobriety) Test: You will be asked to take a BAC test if you are pulled over and suspected of OVI. If you refuse to take this test, your license will be immediately suspended from one to five years. If you take the test and fail it, you will lose your driving privileges from 90 days to three years. Your license is taken away at the time of the arrest.
Punishments if Convicted:
If you are convicted of Ohio OVI for the first time, you face:
- Three days to six months of jail time.
- A driver intervention program.
- A license suspension from six months to three years, including a $450 reinstatement fee.
- Fines from $250 to $1,000.
A second conviction results in more serious consequences including:
- Ten days minimum in jail.
- Electronic home monitoring that can last from 18 days to six months.
- 20 days in jail if the BAC is .17 or higher.
- A fine of at least $350, up to $1,500.
- A one-to-five year suspension of your driver’s license.
- A license reinstatement fee of $450. • A 90-day vehicle immobilization.
- Participation in a driver intervention program.
Don’t Take Chances
Adam Nemann knows how complex the defense of an Ohio DUI/OVI charge can be. By waiting too long to get help, you can greatly reduce your chances of a successful defense. Call Nemann Law Offices today toll free at 888-294-9687 for more information and a free case consultation.