OHIO TEXTING AND DRIVING LAW IN FULL EFFECT FRIDAY
Posted on Jul 27, 2017
Ohio's texting and driving law will go into full effect on Friday.
Police say primary enforcement will be directed toward teen drivers. Officers can pull over any driver under the age of 18 suspected of texting and driving.
Secondary enforcement applies to drivers over the age of 18. Adult drivers have to be stopped, first, for some other infraction.
Ohio drivers under the age of 18 caught texting or using any electronic wireless communication device while driving will face a $150 fine and a 6-month license suspension for the first offense. The fine and suspension time will double after the second offense.
Adult drivers caught writing, sending or reading a text face a misdemeanor fine of up to $150.
There are currently 39 states with texting bans. All but four have primary enforcement for all drivers.