Q I was recently charged with a sex crime in Columbus. Does that mean I have to register as an Ohio sex offender?
Without knowing more about your case, it is difficult to address it specifically; In general, you must be convicted of an Ohio sex crime before registration is required. Also, we can give you the information on who must register. Hopefully this will help.
In July of 2006, the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was signed into federal law. Ohio adopted this law and it became effective in our state on January 1, 2008. Ohio sex offenders’ registration requirements depend on which of the three tiers they fall into. Here are the tiers and the registration requirements for each one:
Tier I offenders have been convicted of offenses like voyeurism, pandering obscenity, and sexual imposition. They must register every year for 15 years. A juvenile must register yearly for ten years.
Tier II offenders have been convicted of more serious offenses including gross sexual imposition with a victim under 13 years, pandering sexually oriented material involving a minor, and unlawful sexual conduct with a minor (if the offender is four or more years older than the victim). Tier II requires 25 years of registering every 180 days. For juveniles, the period is 20 years.
Tier III offenders are convicted of the most serious sex crimes including rape, sexual battery, and murder with sexual motivation. Every convicted Tier III offender, whether adult or juvenile is required to register every 90 days for the remainder of their lives.
If you have questions about your case, or need the help of an experienced Columbus criminal defense attorney, please feel free to contact Nemann Law Offices. Call us toll free today at 888-294-9687 for a free case consultation.